

DONAUKOMMISSION COMMISSION DU DANUBE ДУНАЙСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

PRESS RELEASE

The Danube Commission (DC), under the presidency of H.E. Mr. Gordan Grlić Radman, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Croatia to Germany, held its 92nd session on 13th June 2019 at the premises of the Danube Commission in Budapest.

The delegations of all Member States of the Danube Commission (the Republic of Austria, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Croatia, Hungary, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Serbia, the Slovak Republic, Ukraine), representatives of the Observer States (the Czech Republic, Turkey, Cyprus) and representatives of the Central Commission for the Navigation of the Rhine, the International Sava River Basin Commission and the European Commission participated in the work of the session. A representative of the International Law Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Hungary attended the session and presented information on the work of the Preparatory Committee for the Revision of the Belgrade Convention. The session was also attended by a representative of the Conference of Directors of Danube Shipping Companies – Members of Bratislava Agreements.



The session considered issues arising from the reports on the results of the meetings of the expert groups, the technical working group and the legal and financial working group, and adopted a number of decisions proposed by these groups. Specific technical issues regarding

DONAUKOMMISSION COMMISSION DU DANUBE ДУНАЙСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ



DONAUKOMMISSION COMMISSION DU DANUBE ДУНАЙСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

the recognition of professional qualifications in inland navigation and the technical requirements for inland waterway vessels were discussed during the session.

An important agenda item of the session consisted in approving the new structure of the Secretariat of the Danube Commission. The session appointed Mr. Manfred Seitz, citizen of the Republic of Austria, as Director-General of the Secretariat of the DC; Mr. Csaba Pákozdi, citizen of Hungary, as Deputy Director-General for Administrative and Financial Issues; Mr. Felix Zaharia, citizen of Romania, as Deputy Director-General for Legal Issues and Human Resources, and Mr. Piotr Semyonovich Suvorov, citizen of Ukraine, as Chief Engineer of the Secretariat of the DC, effective as of 1st July 2019. A rotation on other officer positions also took place.

By Decision No. 92/41, the 92nd session approved the Director-General's report on the execution of the regular budget and financial operations of the DC in 2018.

The session took note of the report by the Director-General of the Secretariat on the accomplishment of the Work Plan of the DC for the period from 30th June 2018 to the 92nd session of the DC. The Work Plan of the DC for the period from 14th June 2019 to the 94th session of the DC was adopted.



As the festive part of the DC session, the commemorative medal was awarded. The session approved the Decisions No. 92/37 and 92/38 on awarding Mr. Dorian Dumitru and Mr. Romeo Soare, citizens of Romania, commemorative medals for contributions to the development of Danube navigation.

The 93rd ordinary session of the DC will be held on 13th December 2019.